6 Moments of Silence

As part of the 9/11 anniversary commemoration, six moments of silence are observed, all of which are linked to the tragic events of that day. The American public is also encouraged to participate in the tradition.

They are as follows: 

  • 8:46 a.m: Flight 11 crashes into the north tower.
  • 9:03 a.m.: Flight 175 crashes into the south tower.
  • 9:37 a.m.: Flight 77 crashes into the Pentagon.
  • 9:59 a.m.: The south tower collapses.
  • 10:03 a.m.: Flight 93 crashes into an empty field near Shanksville, Pa after a passenger intervention.
  • 10:28 a.m.: The north tower collapses.”

To Learn More: insideedition.com/6-moments

Source: Inside Edition

Video by: Associated Press

Honoring 9/11 Gallery